June Favourites & Highlights

Hello!

I hope you are all really well! June has been such a packed to overload month, and the weather, for the most part, has been glorious! This has naturally resulted in me buying new clothes and beauty pieces, so there’s quite a lot of new things in this months monthly post. Also, with sun comes new music, and I have been loving so much new music, that I had to resort to doing a separate post dedicated to music last week- see here.

I hope you’ve all had a wonderful June and have lots to look forward to in July. Hope you enjoy this post 🙂

Kiss and Make Up

  • Charcoal Detox Warming Mask £9.99

As most of you will have probably seen, charcoal masks have been huge over this year! Although I’d heard quite negative reviews about the peel off charcoal masks, teamed with the fact that they look absolutely terrifying, I wanted to opt for a less intense, and more effective version. Now why the masks are not good to use is because, it is essentially, like using a plaster on your entire face and ripping it off- so its doing more damage than good and will scar the skin. But with an actual charcoal mask, it cleanses the skin in a gentle way. I opted for this detox warming mask, as it was very straightforward and didn’t require scrubbing or peeling, which would leave my skin feeling and looking damaged. I love this product! You actually feel the mask warming on your face, and its detoxifying. I tend to use this once a week and apply it before I get in the shower and wash off with a facial cloth, whilst in the shower after the 5 minutes is up. It washes off easily and doesn’t require any scrubbing on the skin. A really great new addition to my skincare products.

18816595_1401024769960934_433640433_n

  • L’Oreal Extraordinary Facial Cleansing Oil £7.99

I got this after seeing this in a magazine, and knew I needed to try it out as a night cleanser. I’ve been using Simple cleansing lotion as part of my night time routine for years, and is a product that I trust. But I just fancied a change and wanted to see if this product did anything better to my skin. In terms of removing my make up, it is so so so good! Its amazing! My usual night time routine includes facial wipes, micellar water, cleanser and toner to remove my make up- but just using this alone removed all my make up- yes all! I love that you can use this on your eyes and lips as well. Its great for when I’m really tired and don’t have the energy to do my full night routine. This is a great product and will be something I will be taking on holiday with me.

19622512_1434743009922443_2123176312_n

  • NYX Highlighter Born to Glow £8.00

As you know I’m a big fan of NYX, and am always keen to try anything they do. I already had this product in gleam and I love it so much! I use it every day to give me a subtle glowy daytime look. But since I loved this highlighter so much, I wanted to try it in a different shade, for the summer nights out to give me extra glowy skin for summer. I don’t really get on with powder highlighter, so this highlighter has been a blessing to me, as its liquid. Its so easy to apply and just works for my skin and ease for my make up routine.

19692166_1434750566588354_104829615_n

  • GOSH Pro Eyeliner £6.99

I’ve really got into big bold eyeliners at the moment, and after purchasing one from Milani, I couldn’t resist trying out this one from GOSH. I like my make up routine to be easy and quick, and a thicker eyeliner allows me to do this. I tend to go to this eyeliner more so than the Milani one, as the Milani one seems to run out quite quickly, so out of the two I prefer the GOSH one.

19667978_1434750553255022_1261493733_n

If you can’t stop thinking about it- BUY IT!

  • MANGO Appliqué Red Side Bag £35.99

I’ve been loving Mango so much recently, they’ve got such great things in at the moment and the prices are always so reasonable! As you know red is my colour for this year, and I’ve been loving red handbags so much! As I’ve got a tote bag and red rucksack, next on my list was a red crossbody bag and I immediately fell in love with this one from Mango. I like red because it just makes pieces look more expensive than they are. I really love the chain and buckle detail on this, and its really easy to style with.

19692552_1434742956589115_1115877821_n

  • Tan Mules £15.99

I can’t actually find the exact ones I have from Mango, but I found some ones that are similar from New Look, via ASOS. I really love mules and they are a great piece to own. There are so many different designs of mules on the market, from heeled, to loafer style, embroidered to simple. They are super comfy to wear all day and a great throw on shoe with any outfit, be it day or night.

19668320_1434757146587696_17344773_n

  • LEVI ‘Freak Out’ Tee £25

I’ve really got into slogan tees at the moment, and there are some great ones out there which are eye catching in a simplistic way. I love this ‘freak out’ one from Levi. Its a great way to make a simple outfit look more interesting.

19692340_1434742949922449_46424599_n

  • NEW LOOK Frayed Hem Jeans £14

I’m not a big jean fan, but sometimes they are just the best option. As I had thrown out my light coloured jeans, as I found them way too basic and I didn’t actually wear them, so when I found these light jeans with the frayed hem, I had to get them. They make my outfit look more interesting and these jeans are the perfect fit!

download (4)

  • ASOS Mixed Gingham Shorts £12.50

Gingham is so hot right now and I do love it, especially when I stumble across pieces that don’t make me look like a school girl. I fell in love with these gingham shorts from ASOS, they are super comfy and so easy to style. I teamed these with some grey strappy sandals and a white strappy cami for an evening look, and it made for an effortless summer night out look.

19668009_1434757126587698_1072160467_n

And The Award Goes To…

TV

  • Making a Murderer

I really wanted to watch a documentary, and didn’t expect to go so emotionally invested in this documentary on Netflix. Without spoiling anything, it follows the case of a man who was wrongfully convicted of a crime he didn’t commit. I was hooked on this programme! I’d really recommend it.

f05f54ef2494c4eeaff6335445ca81e8

  • Orange Is The New Black

OITNB was back on our screens, and although I promised myself to pace myself this time around, that didn’t happen. I accidentally managed to binge watch the entire season in 2 days (no regrets). This wasn’t my favourite season, but I just love this TV series, they always talk about such important issues and there is always a powerful message behind it. I’ve always loved Taystee’s character, played by Danielle Brooks, but I found in this series in particular, that she was phenomenal.

41990707c334e91303f23544d4337ab7

Film:

  • Pitch Perfect 2

I don’t know why I didn’t go to see this at the cinema. Oh I know why- I was in denial that I really love Pitch Perfect. I found the first Pitch Perfect hilarious, and when I saw that Pitch Perfect 2 was on Netflix, I had to watch it. Again, its just a laugh a minute feel good film. And Pitch Perfect 3 is coming soon, and I’ve already made the decision I will actually go to the cinema to see this one. I can’t live in denial forever.

63f33583dbf00cb2010f5cb135fefa17

Music:

  • Harry Styles, Woman

  • Miley Cyrus, Malibu

  • Banks, Goddess

I’m not going to write lengthy descriptions about these artists and songs, as I’ve covered that in last weeks post. However, these three songs have been on repeat for the majority of this month.

086655bd33b6891ab9d9e50198778c89

Highlights

  • The Maccabees, The Farewell Shows, Manchester

I was so so happy to have got tickets to The Maccabees final tour. I’ve been a fan of them since I was 16, and was devastated when I heard they were splitting up. I’ve been to every single one of their tours, and was not missing out on this one either. It was such an amazing gig, and I loved paying a little visit to Manchester too. They did some of their older songs, and I was crying by the end of the gig. They will be greatly missed.

19667974_1434742926589118_1922390392_n

  • Wine Tasting

This was one of the funniest things I’ve done! We had a wine connoisseur come to our house to give us at home wine tasting experience. The man hosting was hilarious and was so helpful in terms of telling us about the wine, history, what dish it was best with and in getting us drunk. It was such a fun thing to do, and we got some lovely wine out of it too.

19691417_1434743013255776_427627501_n

  • Hopfest

This is a festival that is held in my home town yearly, and its such a fun mini festival to go to. I had such a great time last year, that I had to go again this year. It was so hot the day that I went which was fab! Its such a fun thing to do and really gets me in the summer mood.

50O2hoL-

  • Booked a Holiday!!!

This has been the biggest highlight of the month, as in 3 weeks time I am off to Tenerife with my best friends! I am so excited and so ready for a holiday! We got such a great deal, and the resort we are staying in looks actually amazing! I can’t wait to get on that plane now and flop out on the sun lounger all day long.

EUROPEMEDITERRANEANSPAINCON_ESPTENERIFEDES_000335LOSGIGANTESLOSGIGANTESHOTEL

I hope you’ve enjoyed this post and had a lovely month 🙂

Love Always,

Gemma

xo

Featured Image: http://vertetfonce.blogspot.co.uk/2016/06/june.html

2 thoughts on “June Favourites & Highlights

Leave a Reply

