The Hot-list

Hello again!

I’ve been loving so many trends and new pieces for Spring/ Summer and I thought I would share what’s on the hot-list for me personally. These are the hot trends that you need to get on right now!

Statement Earrings

Big earrings are making a strong comeback- the bigger, the better. I remember a time where it was all about the ear gear, and I had fluorescent colours, feathers, earrings bigger than my ears sometimes, and they were all the range! Although nowadays I don’t wear earrings (haven’t worn them for about 4 years) this trend is persuading me to get back out there and purchase some eye catching ear pieces. What I love about this particular trend is the simplicity of the statement. You could throw on some jeans and an off shoulder top, whack on some statement earrings and it immediately will give your outfit that extra ‘wow’ factor! Two high street stores that has been giving me so much inspiration for this trend are none other than Topshop and H&M. My favourites being…

 

Topshop Earrings: Beaded Earrings  and Circle Disc Earrings. 

H&M Earrings: Gold Plated Earrings and Long Earrings 

I love anything Kate Spade, so had to include these gorgeous Kate Spade earrings as my splurge piece!

kates4374010917_q2_1-0

Kate Spade Spice Things Up Camel Earrings £76.63

Mellow Yellow

Yellow is everywhere at the moment. Thanks to Solange and her yellow frock from the Met Gala last year (remember this masterpiece), and Beyonce’s album Lemonade and that dress from Beyonce’s music video Hold Up; these Knowles girls got us hooked on yellow! Its a colour many of us tend to shy away from, as it can seem too much, but I’m glad that we are starting to embrace the yellow!

I love this frilled sleeve dress from ZARA. Its a great throw on and go dress (and I love pieces like that- the less tweaking the better). Its simple yet effective, and a bargain at £29.99.

2286997300_2_2_1

ZARA Frilled Sleeve Dress £29.99

A higher end piece is this breathtaking lemon print maxi dress from Own The Look. I saw this originally on blogger Samantha Maria’s Instagram page and couldn’t get over how amazing it was! Unfortunately this item is out of stock, but sign up to receive alerts on it!

aeryne-long-sleeve-lemon-print-maxi-dress-with-slits-p18-1968_medium

Own The Look Lemon Print Maxi Dress £84.95

My splurge piece for this section is this gorgeous crepe mini dress by Alice + Olivia on Net A Porter. I fell in love immediately with the style of this dress; throwing it back to the 60’s with its mini length. The perfect summer dress.

849289_ou_pp

Alice + Olivia Crepe Mini Dress £240

Gingham Girl

Now I myself don’t feel that I can pull of a gingham dress without feeling or looking like a school girl. But that doesn’t mean that I don’t love gingham and haven’t got any lurking in my wardrobe, as it is such a great trend, and one that can be carried through all the seasons. Think gingham trousers for Winter and gingham crops and off shoulder tops for those Spring and Summer months.

ASOS has been the biggest deliverer when it comes to supplying those gingham goods, but my favourites have to be…

Off Shoulder Jumpsuit £35its cute, its fun and its the perfect Spring Summer piece for us UK folk– where we don’t know when the heavens are going to open up! Its also a piece you can get away with from going from day to night in these months too. Team this in the day with some black suede sliders, and for night- some tie up sandals and a leather jacket.

19113099_1412347692161975_1461932246_n

ASOS Off Shoulder Gingham Jumpsuit £35

Daisy Street £24.99- This is a shirt that can be worn throughout all seasons, its another throw on effortless piece (my favourite), and just looks great thrown with some jeans, or with some dungarees (dress or trouser version), and is so easy to style. I also love that its red, as I feel the red makes it look more mature (and less school girl, which is great for me).

19113358_1412348845495193_845313460_n

Daisy Street Relaxed Skirt £24.99 via ASOS

Leaving ASOS behind (for now), Topshop also caught my attention for providing these dreamy frill hem gingham trousers. They can be worn for work, or causally and just again a really easy piece to style- like all gingham pieces are. I think that’s why I love this trend so much; as the gingham is statement enough and it requires little effort to style.

TS16T02MMON_Zoom_M_1

Topshop Gingham Frill Hem Trousers £25

Slogan Tees

I was on a mission this year to sort out my top collection. I just seemed to have 15 of the same tops in different shades- black, white and striped- that’s it. Which is great for in winter when I’m layering outfits, but I always come to the same predicament year in, year out when it gets a bit warmer and I can bare my arms- and I have nothing inspiring. So, this year I was determined to sort out my t-shirt problem and so far I’ve got quite a nice and varied collection, but the type of tops I have really been loving are slogan tees.

Mango have been amazing in supplying such reasonable and catchy, and downright inspiring slogan tees- and this is where I have purchased the vast majority of mine from. My favourites are…

The only problem I’m finding with these slogan tee, is that I seem to like all the white coloured ones, and for clumsy me, it’s really testing me.

My splurge piece is no other than that Gucci top– its everywhere but I still love it.

440103_X3F05_9045_001_100_0000_Light-Washed-t-shirt-with-Gucci-print

Gucci £285

Embroidered Excellence

I have been loving all things embroidered. For non floral wearer (glasses and afro problems- look like a granny), this is my perfect loop hole to incorporate florals into my wardrobe in a subtle way.

I’ve been loving these strappy heels from Missguided, they can make a simple LBD a bit more daring with these shoes.

43e368b91b56511c41507bf587bd9d62

Missguided Embroidered Heels £35

But of course, ASOS have once again been my queens when its come to doing embroidered right and there are so many pieces I’ve been loving.

From the more higher end of the spectrum, I’ve fallen for this Floral Leather Jacket– its perfect for Spring and jazzing up and outfit. A bit more pricey, but its definitely an investment.

19047749_1412348585495219_1441091331_n

ASOS Curve Floral Embroidered Leather Biker Jacket £200

I also love love love this mini dress– its so captivating and beautiful! And I really need an occasion to wear this to, just so I can purchase this (I’m open to invitations). Its got a 60’s vibe and is fun and flirty.

19047862_1412347938828617_1400292818_n

ASOS Embroidered Mini Dress £75

Coming back down to earth, in prices, I love this frill sleeve shirt from Pretty Little Thing via ASOS. It’s so cute and the perfect Spring piece. I’d team this with some red heeled courts, frayed cut off jeans and oversized jacket.

19075217_1412347688828642_54138825_n

Frill Sleeve Shirt £20 Pretty Little Thing via ASOS

So those are the things on my hot list for this Spring/Summer.

I hope you’re having a lovely weekend.

Love Always,

Gemma

xo

Featured Image: http://www.thethingswesay.com/that-is-so-fetch/

Leave a Reply

