Epilator Review

Hi Guys!

So today I thought I would do a full review of my Braun Silk-Epil Dual Epilator, as it has been 3 months that I have been using it and I wanted to share my results so far.

So, as you may know, I have a weird hair phobia- (I just really dislike having hair on my body). For years I’ve tried and tested a whole range of hair removal products and trends- from waxing to threading, natural remedies to salons own- you name it- I’ve tried it!

But I wanted a cost friendly way to banish those niggly hairs that keep coming back after every shave; which meant I would be saving a heap of money, instead of spending £15 a pop on a new razor every month or so. And it was in that moment (or at some point in the early hours of the morning, no doubt), that an epilator seemed to be the answer to my prayers.

Epilators seemed to be a foreign thing to me, and I was thrown back to being a little girl and seeing this weird thing in my auntie’s bathroom and it making this whirring noise that sounded terrifying and I never touched her things ever again! But that was the 90’s, and amidst all the horror stories some older women may tell you about the dreaded epilator; I wanted to try it for myself and see how the 2017 version differed.

After much extensive research I concluded that for my first epilator that I wanted one that I could use in the shower. We all know the pain that dry shaving causes, and there’s been far too many times in a rush for a spontaneous night out I’ve had to dry shave and it makes me shudder just thinking about it. If dry shaving was uncomfortable I didn’t want to even imagine how painful dry epilating your legs would be- you’d feel every pull, surely! So with that in mind, I opted with the Braun Silk-Epil Dual 7 Epilator, which provides you with the option to use both on land and sea (well bathroom floor or shower, but I was being poetic).

After lathering myself up on shaving gel and resembling some sort of snowy Bigfoot, I was ready to take on my first epilating challenge…

The sound is a little daunting and off putting, but it is something you get used to. The LED light is really great in revealing where your hairs are, and in guiding you to the right places- so no more missed hairs. Moving slowly with the device, I focused, initially, on my legs only. The first time I used this, I was surprised at how bearable it was. I was expecting for me to switch it off as soon as it hit my skin or scream in pain, but although you can feel a little bit of a pull of your hair from the root- its about the same pain threshold as you plucking a hair from your eyebrow or something.

As a now confident user of this product, I use this on both my arms and legs (haven’t quite braved it to my underarms just yet), but I am always so impressed with the results every time I use it.

After having this product for the duration of three months, I initially had to use this once a week. It then increased to once every 2 weeks and now I only have to use it once every 3 weeks! My skin is so lovely and soft- a result shaving could never achieve no matter how close to the grain I got it. I no longer have the fear of cutting myself with the razor and dealing with that excruciating pain! My legs are looking better than ever for leaving them untouched for such a long length of time, and they are no longer covered in cuts and marks.

Despite the initial nerves surrounding this product, this is definitely something I’m glad to own and if I had to be without it now- I wouldn’t know what to do.

ph-stage-silk-epil-7-dual-global

I hope you’ve had a lovely weekend 🙂

Love always,

Gemma

xo

Featured Image via- http://www.refinery29.com/winter-hairy-legs?crlt.pid=camp.y66nKdrocG9O

Leave a Reply

