Christmas Outfits

Hello! So for many of us we are in the full swing of Christmas cheer and celebrations! And with Christmas comes a lot of celebrations and a lot of outfits- work parties, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Year and everything else in between! I never go out on Christmas Eve, and opt for a night in with my family watching a Christmas movie in my new Christmas Eve pyjamas- The Walton tradition. But for all other occasions I need outfits and in this blog post I’ve listed some ideas to help you with the Christmas Celebrations…

Work Christmas Party

Christmas work do’s are a difficult one. You want to look and feel your best, whilst also maintaining a level of professionalism. As much as you want to rock up in that mini dress, after a few drinks is that really a good idea? For a work meal or party I would suggest midi or maxi dresses, which always look lovely and glamorous, such as…

ASOS Wiggle Midi Dress £29.99- I love the simplicity of this dress, and is very elegant. Its a timeless piece that can be worn for many occasions and throughout all seasons. To style this I would team this dress with grey courts, such as these, or with grey strappy heels and a glittery clutch bag.

For a more dramatic look, maxi dresses are a good shout, and I love all the maxi dresses Pretty Little Thing have to offer, with one of my favourites being this cream maxi dress £35. Again its a simple yet classic piece, and very easy to style. I would team this with red tie heels, to give it that festive feeling and a box style clutch bag.

Christmas Day

Christmas day I like to look festive without looking cheesy. I’m not a Christmas jumper kinda gal, with me owning the same Christmas jumper for about 8 years (yup somehow still fits). I have an annual ‘force Gemma to wear a jumper day’, which was yesterday- lucky for me. But for Christmas Day, I go festive in a different way with red and velvet- the epitome of festivity.

Velvet can sometimes be tricky, as it can sometimes look very gothic, but to keep it festive, I opt for a bold colour as opposed to patterns when it comes to velvet. And I love this red velvet mini skirt £9.99. Its very festive, due to the colour, and again very easy to style. I’d team this with a high neck black top, black tights and some Dr Martens shoes or loafers.

Boxing Day Party

Boxing Day for me, is my time to shine! I cook the Boxing Day meal and also host a Boxing Day Party- safe to say I end up pretty drunk come 2pm- but its all part of the fun! For Boxing Day I like to be in something more comfortable, as well as easy to style for when the drink hits me, and I know that my outfit still looks good. I tend to opt for shift dresses such as this polka dot dress from ZARA. Shift dresses are a blessing, as you can throw them on and they just require minimum effort to look good. Also they are great for hiding the ever expanding food baby over Christmas.

For this particular dress from ZARA £29.99, I would style this with black ankle boots, gold socks (to give it a little bit of glitz) and a red cross body bag.

New Years Eve

New Years Eve is all about the glitz and the glam, and this year I’m going to a black tie event at my friend’s house so I kind of need a ball gown. I think New Years is the only time where you can look super dramatic in a dress and no one can say anything. I tend to go for metallic colours for this celebration as well as having a maxi style dress or skirt, and of course throwing some faux fur in the mix.

I love this sequin dress from Pretty Little Thing at £45, its super festive and glamorous (and plus you’ll feel like a mermaid). I would team this dress with a faux fur clutch and keep it simple with some black strappy heels.

New Years Day

The day after the night before. I usually go for a family New Years Day walk the morning after, as fresh air is supposed to do you good- so I hear. But as I want to make the least amount of effort and be as snuggly as possible, there is only one solution- Loungewear. And I love this co ord set from Missguided for £25. I would team this with some equally comfy shoes- such as grey trainers– to reflect my mood as we well as being comfy.

I hope these ideas help you and you feel more prepared for the Christmas celebrations coming soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

