What I’ve Learnt as a Vegetarian

I started my journey as a vegetarian 2 years ago, and through my ups and downs- I am a vegetarian.

When I first started out I didn’t really know what foods to eat and how to make nutritious meals containing all the essential nutrients needed, so as a result I was constantly hungry! And it was this constant hunger which drove me back to eat meat for a few months. But fast forward to a few months later, and the smell of meat is making me gag, the look of meat is making me nauseous and the thought of eating it- made me throw up.

So in my second attempt at vegetarianism (with my body really giving me no choice), I began to explore and research things properly. I did a post on Why I’m Pescatarian as opposed to a straight vegetarian, but I’m not much of a big fish eater anymore- something that has just naturally developed over time.

But in this second attempt at veggie life, I’ve learnt so much where now I don’t think I could ever eat meat again. My first time when I attempted vegetarianism, I felt like I was missing something, that only meat could fill. I felt meals weren’t the same because they were meat dishes, and how could I possibly change them?

Yet on this journey, I’ve discovered new foods, new recipes, enjoying colourful meals; I’ve fallen in love with cooking and experimenting in the kitchen again. My skin is clear, I no longer feel unbearably full and sluggish after a meal, and at the same time no animals were harmed in the preparation of my food. It has really opened my eyes to the possibilities and creative ways to make delicious meals, that my friends and family can enjoy too. My interest in food and production has increased and I feel more confident in knowing that what I’m putting into my body is good stuff. And on the plus, I’m saving money- £4 for two packs of tofu that will last me a fortnight, compared to £6 for some chicken that lasts a few days.

Now there are times when I will crave meat, and I’m not going to pretend I don’t. I was raised up eating meat, my taste buds know what it tastes like. And whilst my taste buds may tingle over a burger, its my head that doesn’t want it.

I never thought I’d be a vegetarian, but now I can’t imagine not being one.

Leave a Reply

