The Unromantic Romantic

When a guy buys me flowers I’m like “wow, thanks- now what?” But when a guy for example, buys me food (preferably doughnuts), I am flattered!

Am I just a massive foodie, or do I hold a different perspective on what is romantic?

For me, any person can buy you flowers, and spending £20 on a bouquet of flowers is plain dumb not romantic. Look how much people spend on Valentine’s Day on pointless gifts that will end up in the bin and are definitely not worth the money- that’ just business! I love flowers yes, but the £2.50 bouquet from the independent flower man are better for both your wallet and for independent business growth.

Now I don’t want to be labelled as the Grinch of romance, because yes I like romance and I believe in it, but my ideas of romance are different to the Hollywood ways we have been forced to accept as the norm. Romance doesn’t have to extravagant, it doesn’t have to be over the top, it doesn’t have to be displayed all over every social media sight. So much so that those in relationships are glaring at their boyfriend for not buying them 500 roses for every day that they’ve been loved!

Do you know what the most romantic gesture is? Someone who listens to you.

If a guy rocked up with a bouquet of roses I would have no idea what to do with them or what to say about them other than they are nice. But if I’d had a bad day at work or something and I’d mentioned in a conversation about wanting Thai food, and they take me out for a meal or cooked me a Thai dish, I’d be so grateful. That’s romance for me.

People will always compare their relationships to others, even if they are perfectly happy in their own, another person talking about what their partner has done or bought for them may outshine what yours does for you. But the question you need to ask yourself is, do they make you happy and if the answer is yes, then that’s all you need.

You can buy nice things for someone and all they’ll expect is nice things, but you can give someone your time and listen to them and they’re forever be amazed that you know them so well.

Romance isn’t dead, I’m just an unromantic romantic.

One thought on “The Unromantic Romantic

Leave a Reply

