Book Reviews!

There’s nothing quite like a good book, but sometimes we can’t always fit reading into our daily lives, its often saved for holidays, when we’re ill and when we’re on the train.

I’ve found that the highlight of commuting is actually having time to immerse myself in a book. And it’s been one great book after another! So I thought I would share my three top reads at the moment and my review on them…

P.S. No spoiler alerts

  1. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

    gone-girl-book-cover

I had this as a birthday present from one of my friends, as they said I would like it and liked it I did! If you like books that keep you guessing to the end (or near the end) then this is a great book! It’s a bit uncomfortable in places with one of the character’s thought processes, but that adds to the plot. I also liked the way its set out in the various characters’ voices, and dates, and what they were doing and thinking on a certain date and time. You need to fully immerse yourself in this book and need no distractions, so going round your Nan’s to try and read when she’s asking if you’d like a cup of tea for the 10th time, is not ideal. A gripping book from start to end…

My rating: 8/10

  1. The Girl on The Train by Paula Hawkins

    7ed2b23f2fd3be62c0223ebadfaf18b3

Okay so there may be a theme here with thriller/suspense books, but they make me want to turn the page and that’s what a good book should do right? So I’ve literally finished this today- and oh my god- you need to read this book! This woman is a literacy genius! I cannot fault this book in the slightest! I really could picture and imagine the character’s and feel what each character felt in every situation- I felt as if I was living the experience! I would advise not reading this on the train due to the title- I have been, and well there have been some strange looks off some people. Similarly to Gone Girl, the book is set out in the character’s voices for each chapter and I really love that in a book! An excellent and exciting read…

My rating: 10/10

  1. Off Track Planet’s ‘Travel Guide for the Young, Sexy and Broke’

    4ac9c04d1ed893c349c64daf0bdb911d

On a lighter note! This is my ‘go to’ book when I’m making travel plans, and as I am in the midst of making travel plans, this book is now my religion. I’ve had this book for a couple of years, another present off one of my friends, and it’s a really great informative book. It’s wrote by young travellers, so suggestions are fun, inspiring, safe and cost friendly- plus there’s something for everyone, whatever your reason for going travelling. If you want to be inspired with art, then visit Berlin, Republica Portatil, Tokyo. Fashion hungry? Then Hong Kong, Italy and New York are your best friends. The book informs you in some history, where to go and what to see in a quick fire, straight to the point, yet informative way. If its your first time travelling and staying in hostels and you have the image of being in a dorm shared with rats, this book will wipe that image straight from your head and inspire you to just go out there and stay in a hostel! Honestly, I never stay in hotels, I always stay in hostels they are just 10 times better! So if your after an inspirational book when it comes to travel, then I would recommend this one!

My rating: 10/10

Hope you enjoyed this book review 🙂

Leave a Reply

