Stuck in a Style Rut

Ask me to style an outfit for Autumn/Winter, and I’m your girl. Ask me what to wear for Spring/Summer and I’m lost. I suit Autumn/Winter so much more than I do Spring/Summer, so when approaching the days where the sun is gleaming (or its raining but humid in Britain), what most people love I tend to dread.

Whenever I’m in a style rut, I tend to turn to Pinterest, Tumblr, magazines such as ID, Cosmopolitan and Vogue. But sometimes you need a little bit more, and that’s when I pay a visit to Birmingham library (a must see tourist attraction), and rent out a good old book.

As the days grow lighter and I need some help and advice in terms of what to wear for Spring and Summer; particularly in the essentials department that will carry me from trend to trend; I have sought guidance and direction from these holy grail books…

13084107_1043373132392768_907306404_n

Wear This Now

Authors: Michele Madhox and Eileen Conlan

Immediately with this book I was drawn to the cover of it, as it’s really fun and looked like a great book to flick through for reference. When I started to read the book, I loved the catchy chapter titles used throughout, such as ‘wake up and smell the khaki’– it’s clever, whilst also informing you of what this section is going to be on. Throughout the book, they use cartoon women, which I really liked; it complemented the fun nature of the book in general. This book is fantastic in terms of providing you with essentials for every season, as well as offering advice and suggestions for special events, such as weddings, valentines day or a baby shower. It has been a god send in my life, as I really struggle to style clothes for Spring/Summer and finally, I feel prepared for summer- come at me! PHOTO AND LINK FOR ‘THINGS A WOMAN SHOULD KNOW ABOUT STYLE’

13077121_1043373115726103_578253032_n

Things A Woman Should Know About Style

Author: Karen Homer

I was drawn to this book primarily because Audrey Hepburn is on the front cover in her Breakfast at Tiffany’s attire, and I love Audrey, and Breakfast at Tiffany’s is my favourite film ever! What I also loved about this book, was the compact size of it. It’s really light and a great book to flick through when your commuting to work for example, as it won’t take up too much room in your bag. This book really explored the history of fashion and trends, which I found highly fascinating, to have some background and context for key pieces that everyone owns or have been around for years i.e. Levi jeans. It particularly explores the classic styles and trends and the rules for these iconic pieces, as well as showcasing iconic celebrities throughout the book. I loved the little quotes it had throughout the book as well, as they were inspiring and added to the classic feel of the book. Again, the chapter titles were fun, with ‘Material Girl’ and ‘Like a Virgin’ making an appearance- Madonna would be proud.

This next book explores beauty as opposed to fashion, but with seasons changing and your skin needing all the moisture it can get- this is a great book for beauty advice and tips.

13023199_1043373089059439_207434369_n

The Ultimate Natural Beauty Bible

Authors: Sarah Stacey and Josephine Fairley

This really is a bible and a book that will be with me for life. This book I actually purchased from TK MAXX a couple of months ago. I’m a big fan of natural based products and home remedies for skin care, and this is such a fantastic book to own, if like me, you love natural based products and want to know more about which brands are best, and what the authors marked them out of- as they include a mark scheme out of 10. It’s detailed in its reviews of products, and covers everything from lip balm to facial scrubs, feet to after sun. What I also love about this book, is how it addresses organic products and products against animal testing and really helps you understand more about these products and what different signs mean. Then- the crème de la crème- it has a directory at the back with the names of stores which are accessible online and even includes the phone numbers for these stores, just in case, you know fancied a chat. This is a book I keep going back to and has pride of place next to my bed- just like a regular bible.

I think its great to have so many things online to inspire us, but sometimes you just need a good old book for that extra bit of inspiration.

Leave a Reply

