You’re never too old to chase your dreams

The other day whilst I was at work, I overheard my manager saying how for her birthday she was so excited to be going to see Wicked in London. I’m not a big musical fan, but even I have seen that and it was amazing- perks of once being a performing arts student. She then went on to say how much she loved drama and performing arts at school and although never wanted to be an actress, she had always dreamt of being a performing arts teacher, she then sighed and said “yet here I am, head of admin”. I suddenly felt really sad for her. I’m 21, have been at university, and am taking a gap year, working here and there gaining more experience in office based roles, as I’ve only ever done support work, as well as saving some money to go travel and volunteer abroad. Oh and fit in my driving lessons somewhere!

 

But my dream exceeds the now, I’m working towards it and I cannot do what I want to do career wise until I can drive, until I have more experience and until I have done my masters in health promotion and public health. My gap year is helping me reach that goal. But how many of us once we reach a certain age think we can’t do what we really want to do, because it’s too late, we have missed the peak education time. I say it’s never too late! Why settle and be stuck in a job where you may be good at it yes, but you don’t enjoy it? There’s a quote I liked the other day on Instagram which says “Doing what you like is freedom, liking what you do is happiness”. And at the end of it all, isn’t that what we want in life? To wake up and want to go to work, to be excited what the day has to offer? It would lead to a much better work ethic I can tell you that.

 

So whatever age you are, however distant this dream of yours may seem, I’m telling you that it is within reach. That it’s never too late to change your life. Chase your dreams and live a life full of happiness

Leave a Reply

